Ireland Stand Up delighted with campaign reaction

Ireland Stand Up delighted with campaign reaction


Campaginers protesting against the closure of the Irish Embassy to the Holy See have expressed delight after dozens of Oireachtas members turned up at a briefing aimed at informing politicians of the value of the relationship.

Ireland Stand Up invited members of the public who are opposed to the move by the Government to come along and meet their political representatives.

Spokesperson for Ireland Stand Up Mary Fitzgibbon said she has been overwhelmed by the support of Catholics across Ireland for their campaign. She was also heartened by the positive reaction of so many lawmakers. ”I think they are taking it very seriously. They were very much open to dialogue,” she said.

Ireland Stand Up is also organising a postcard campaign to lobby politicians.

For more info see:

Oireachtas representation

FG: Sean Barrett*; James Bannon; Pat Breen; Ray Butler; Jerry Buttimer; Paudie Coffey; Sean Conlan; Paul Connaughton; Majella Kennedy Corcoran; Enda Kenny*; Lucinda Creighton; Pat Deering; Damien English; Charlie Flanagan; Terence Flanagan; Brendan Griffin; Noel Harrington; Simon Harris; Tom Hayes; Martin Heydon; Heather Humphreys; Paul Kehoe; Anthony Lawlor; Peter Mathews; Nicky McFadden; Tony McLoughlin; Michelle Mulherin; Dara Murphy; Eoghan Murphy; Dan Neville; Kieran O’Donnell; Patrick O’Donovan; Fergus O’Dowd; John O’Mahony; Joe O’Reilly; David Stanton; Billy Timmins; Brian Walsh.

Labour: Ciara Conway*; Eamon Gilmore*; Colm Keaveney; Sean Kenny*;Gerald Nash; Ann Phelan*; Arthur Sprine; Joanna Tuffy.

FF: John Browne; Dara Calleary; Niall Collins; Barry Cowen; Timmy Dooley; Sean Fleming; Micheál Martin; Charlie McConalogue; Michael McGrath; Michael Moynihan; Éamon O Cuiv; Seán O Fearghail; Brendan Smyth; Robert Troy.

Ind: Tom Fleming; Michael Healy Rae; Finian McGrath; Mattie McGrath; Denis Naughten; Willie Penrose.

SF: Mary Lou McDonald.

Senators: Sen Deirdre Clune (FG); Sen Maurice Cummins (FG); Sen Michael Mullins (FG); Sen Michael D’Arcy (FG); Sen Paul Bradford (FG); Sen Paul Coghlan (FG); Sen Tony Mulcahy (FG); Sen Brian Ó Domhnaill (FF); Sen Jim Walsh (FF); Sen Labhrás Ó Murchu (FF); Sen Marc MacSharry (FF); Sen Paschal Mooney (FF); Sen Thomas Byrne (FF); Sen Feargal Quinn (Ind); Sen Ronan Mullen (Ind)*; Sen Jillian Van Turnhour (Ind)*.

*Sent representative